Fort Randall Casino & Hotel is a regional casino hotel in the Lake Andes area of southeastern South Dakota, with penny slots, blackjack, dining, and a concourse-connected hotel. Its strongest reason to visit is convenience: dinner, gambling, and an overnight stay can happen without driving between properties. I see it as a better fit for regional players and travelers exploring the Missouri River area than for visitors seeking an elaborate resort weekend. The main trade-off is a simpler dining and entertainment lineup.
Fort Randall Casino quick facts
| Location | Lake Andes area, South Dakota |
|---|---|
| Property type | Casino with a concourse-connected hotel |
| Minimum gambling age | 21 |
| Main games | Penny slots and blackjack |
| Poker room / retail sportsbook | No / No |
| Hotel | More than 50 rooms advertised; standard rooms and suites shown in the official gallery |
| Check-in / check-out | 3 p.m. / 11 a.m. |
| Dining and drinks | Four Directions Restaurant, snack bar, and Lucky’s Lounge |
| Smoking | Hotel is nonsmoking; confirm casino-floor and lounge policies separately |
| RV parking | $10 per day; first come, first served; no long-term stays |
| Rewards program | Players Club |
| Phone | 605-487-7871 |
What kind of casino is Fort Randall?
Fort Randall’s appeal is the combination of casino, hotel, restaurant, and lounge rather than any single headline attraction. The property is associated with the Yankton Sioux Tribe, and its setting makes it a possible base for fishing, hunting, and sightseeing around Lake Andes and the Missouri River.
I would approach it as a straightforward casino stop with an overnight option. That is not a criticism. A connected room can be more useful than amenities you will never use, especially if your plans are outdoors during the day and dinner or gambling in the evening.
For alternatives around the state, see our guide to South Dakota casinos.
Casino games: slots and blackjack
The official property information names penny slots and blackjack. Those are the core games to plan around rather than an older inventory of machine titles or an assumed selection of table games.
Slots and video poker
“Penny” describes a slot denomination, not necessarily the total wager. Check the bet display before spinning, particularly when a machine offers several ways to increase your wager.
Call before making a special trip for a particular slot title or video poker. Machine selections change, and video poker availability is worth asking about if that is your preferred game. Inspect the actual pay table before playing.
A winning story does not establish a machine’s payout percentage. Set a budget you are comfortable losing, and treat promotions as a bonus rather than a reason to keep playing.
Blackjack and other table games
Blackjack is the live-table offering specifically named by the property. Ask when tables are dealing and what minimum wagers apply before making a drive mainly to play cards. Casino hours and table hours need not be identical.
The casino’s official landing page also advertises roulette, but it does not specify whether that means a dealer-run table or an electronic game. Ask about the format if roulette is the reason for your trip.
At the table, check the posted rules, including the blackjack payout. I care about both the minimum and the rules: a smaller buy-in does not automatically make a game a better value.
Poker room and sportsbook
Fort Randall Casino has no dedicated player-versus-player poker room and no on-property retail sportsbook. Video poker and poker-themed casino games are different offerings. Likewise, watching games at Lucky’s Lounge is not the same as having a sports betting counter or wagering kiosks.
Hotel: rooms, booking, and smoking policy
The three-story hotel is adjacent to the casino and connected by a concourse. It advertises more than 50 rooms, free Wi-Fi, elevators, and access to a gift shop and travel plaza. Its official gallery shows standard rooms and suites; ask about bed configurations and layouts when booking.
The connection matters most if you expect to spend the evening on-site. You can finish dinner or leave the lounge without another drive. For a short daytime gambling stop, I would not book a room simply because it is attached.
- Arrival and departure: Check-in is at 3 p.m., and check-out is at 11 a.m.
- Reservation age: Guests must be at least 21 to reserve a room.
- Vehicle information: License plate information is required at check-in.
- Cash payment: A $100 cash deposit is required. Ask how and when it is returned.
- Smoking: The hotel is nonsmoking. Confirm the casino-floor and lounge policies separately.
- Rates: Call 800-362-6333 for current room rates. Availability and blackout dates may affect offers.
Get a complete quote, including taxes and any applicable fees, and ask for cancellation terms before committing.
Dog-friendly rooms and fees
The published pet policy allows dogs in designated pet-friendly rooms. Request one in advance, preferably when booking. The nonrefundable fee is $50 per stay for one dog or $100 for two dogs, with a two-dog limit. Service dogs are listed as welcome without a charge.
Dogs must be leashed when entering and leaving the lobby. If you leave the hotel premises while your dog stays in the room, it must be secured in a suitable crate or carrier. Damage is charged separately, and repeated disruption complaints can require alternative arrangements for the dog. Read the policy before arrival, not while checking in with a leash in one hand.
Cost comparison: hotel stays, dog fees, and RV parking
The useful comparison here is not an outdated advertised room rate. It is how the published extras affect the visit you intend to make.
Gamboool original analysis
We assembled the comparison below from published information and our calculations. These are selected examples, rather than measured gambling sessions or a representative survey.
| Detail | Published information |
|---|---|
| Connection to casino | The hotel is adjacent to the casino and connected by a concourse. |
| Published room inventory | The hotel advertises more than 50 rooms. |
| Wi-Fi cost | Wi-Fi is advertised as free. |
| Fort Randall RV parking: Price and availability restrictions | Parking costs $10.00 per day, is first come, first served, and does not permit long-term stays. |
| Smoking policy | The hotel is non-smoking; this passage does not establish the casino-floor policy. |
| Arrival and departure times | Check-in is at 3 p.m., and check-out is at 11 a.m. |
| Room-rate availability | Current rates require a telephone inquiry; availability and blackout dates can affect offers. |
| Minimum booking age | Guests must be at least 21 to reserve a room; this is a hotel reservation policy. |
| Cash-payment deposit | Cash payments require a $100.00 cash deposit. The passage does not specify refund terms. |
| Vehicle information at check-in | Guests must provide license plate information at check-in. |
| Pet accommodation: Advance arrangement | The published pet policy is for dogs only, and guests should request a pet-friendly room in advance. |
| Pet accommodation: One-dog versus two-dog fee | The non-refundable fee is $50.00 per stay for one dog or $100.00 for two dogs, with a two-dog limit. |
| Pet accommodation: Unattended-dog restriction | Dogs left in a room while the guest leaves the premises must be secured in a suitable crate or carrier. |
| Pet accommodation: Damage charges | Pet damage is charged separately to the guest. |
| Pet accommodation: Disruption and fee-refund policy | After two complaints, alternative pet arrangements are required; the pet fee is not refunded once the pet has entered the room. |
| Service-dog accommodation: Published charge | The hotel’s published policy welcomes service dogs without a charge. |
| Fort Randall Casino & Hotel entertainment: Advertised no-ticket-cost option | The official homepage advertises free live music, but this passage does not provide a performance schedule. |
| Fort Randall Dam power-plant tours: Published seasonal cost comparison | The 2025 regional guide describes free summer power-plant tours as a nearby alternative to paid activities; confirm current availability. |
| Pickstown Fort Randall Museum: Published admission and visiting policy | The 2025 guide lists free-will-offering admission, tour inquiries, and seasonal Saturday hours; confirm the current schedule. |
| Calculation | Result | Takeaway |
|---|---|---|
| RV parking charge for an illustrative two-day visit | $20.00 | RV parking has a separate daily cost and is first come, first served; confirm availability and how arrival and departure days are charged. |
| Additional pet fee for bringing two dogs rather than one | $50.00 per stay | Bringing another dog increases the non-refundable charge, and a pet-friendly room should be requested before booking. |
| One-dog pet fee allocated across a one-night stay | $50.00 per night allocated to the pet fee | For a short stay, include the entire per-stay pet fee when comparing the hotel with other lodging. |
| One-dog pet fee allocated across a three-night stay | $16.67 per night allocated to the pet fee | A longer continuous stay spreads the same pet fee across more nights; this allocation is not a nightly charge. |
| Two-dog pet fee allocated across a three-night stay | $33.33 per night allocated to the pet fee | Compare this allocation with the one-dog scenario when budgeting a longer stay, while keeping the room price separate. |
Research references: fortrandallcasinohotel.com 1, fortrandallcasinohotel.com 2, sdmissouririver.com.
Method: Published inputs collected 2026-10-13. Illustrative assumptions are labeled, and the full calculation inputs remain in the saved research record. These examples support planning; they do not predict a particular session.
For an illustrative one-night stay with one dog, the entire $50 pet fee falls on that night. Across an illustrative three-night continuous stay, the same fee works out to $16.67 per night. With two dogs over three nights, the allocation is $33.33 per night. These are budgeting allocations, not nightly pet charges, and exclude the room price, taxes, and other costs.
A second dog adds $50 to the nonrefundable per-stay charge. My takeaway: dog-friendly does not necessarily mean best value for a quick overnight stop. Compare the full stay price with other lodging.
Two charged RV parking days at the published $10 daily rate would total $20. This is an illustrative estimate, not a guaranteed quote. Ask how arrival and departure days are billed and what facilities are included.
A day trip avoids lodging costs but leaves the return drive. A hotel stay buys the concourse connection. An RV stop offers a separate parking option, but first-come availability and the no-long-term-stay rule make it less dependable than a reserved campsite. Choose based on the trip, not just the lowest headline number.
Restaurants, bars, and entertainment
Four Directions Restaurant is the principal named restaurant, and the homepage also lists a snack bar. Lucky’s Lounge advertises drink specials, televised games, and weekend entertainment.
The practical benefit is eating and having a drink without leaving the property. I would not plan an entire culinary weekend around the lineup, though. Check current menus and service hours, particularly if you expect a full meal late in the evening.
The property advertises free live music and other weekend entertainment. Confirm the performer, date, start time, and admission charge for your chosen event. A general mention of free music does not mean every performance is free.
Nearby attractions
Lake Francis Case, Fort Randall Dam, and Lake Andes National Wildlife Refuge give a stay more variety than gambling alone. Fishing, wildlife watching, and regional history are sensible reasons to include the casino hotel in a broader trip.
The 2025 regional tourism guide describes free summer power-plant tours at Fort Randall Dam and free-will-offering admission at the Pickstown Fort Randall Museum. Check current seasonal access and tour arrangements. These are separate outings, not hotel amenities.
Directions, RV parking, and visit planning
The supplied address is 38538 SD Highway 46, Lake Andes, SD 57356. Route to the property itself rather than downtown Lake Andes. For an unfamiliar rural drive, I would confirm the entrance and allow for changing weather, especially in winter.
RV parking costs $10 per day, is first come, first served, and does not allow long-term stays. Do not assume full hookups, a reserved space, or a particular maximum stay. Ask before relying on it for the night.
- Age and identification: You must be at least 21 to gamble. Bring valid government-issued photo identification.
- Schedules: Confirm casino hours, blackjack hours, restaurant hours, and entertainment times separately.
- Smoke sensitivity: Ask about the casino and lounge, not just the nonsmoking hotel.
- Accessibility: Discuss specific room features and routes between parking, lodging, dining, and gaming before booking.
- Transportation: Arrange transportation in advance if you are not driving. Do not assume an airport shuttle or an on-demand ride will be available.
Players Club and rewards
Fort Randall lists a Players Club. Ask about enrollment before gambling and use the card where eligible.
The published Players Club brochure says points expire 12 months after they are earned. Confirm the current rule at the club desk rather than assuming points will wait indefinitely for your next visit.
Ask what each offer provides, such as free play, a dining benefit, or a room discount, and check its restrictions. Do not assume points equal cash back. A benefit is only valuable if you can use it without gambling more than intended.
Who Fort Randall suits
Fort Randall suits regional slot and blackjack players who want a straightforward casino evening, along with travelers combining a hotel stay with fishing, hunting, or wildlife watching around Lake Andes. The connected hotel, Four Directions Restaurant, and Lucky’s Lounge reduce driving between stops, its strongest practical advantage. Choose a larger resort if extensive dining choices and non-gambling facilities are central to your weekend; here, compare the complete room quote and dog fees before deciding the convenient overnight option is also the best value.
Frequently asked questions
Does Fort Randall Casino have a hotel?
Yes. The three-story hotel is connected by a concourse and advertises more than 50 rooms. Check-in is at 3 p.m., and check-out is at 11 a.m.
Does Fort Randall have a poker room or sportsbook?
No. It has neither a dedicated player-versus-player poker room nor an on-property retail sportsbook.
How old do you have to be to gamble at Fort Randall?
The minimum gambling age is 21. Guests must also be at least 21 to reserve a hotel room.
Can you bring a dog?
Yes, with a pet-friendly room arranged in advance. The published nonrefundable fee is $50 per stay for one dog or $100 for two dogs, with a two-dog limit. Leash, crating, and behavior requirements apply.
Is Fort Randall smoke-free?
The hotel is nonsmoking. Confirm casino-floor and lounge policies separately before assuming the entire property is smoke-free.
How much does RV parking cost?
The published rate is $10 per day. Spaces are first come, first served, and long-term stays are not allowed. Confirm billing details and facilities before arriving.
Sources and research note
Property materials were collected October 13, 2026. The cost comparisons use published charges and illustrative stay lengths; they are not room quotes or reports of a personal visit. Call 605-487-7871 for visit-specific questions.
- Fort Randall Casino & Hotel official homepage: gaming, dining, lounge, and entertainment information.
- Official hotel page: rooms, amenities, booking policies, dog fees, and RV parking.
- 2025 South Dakota Missouri River Travel Guide: regional attractions and seasonal activities.
- Official website address retained from the earlier guide.
Poker room and sportsbook
There is no dedicated poker room or on-site sportsbook.