Grand River Casino & Resort is a Standing Rock Sioux Tribe-owned casino four miles west of Mobridge, South Dakota, with slots, river-view dining, and rooms, suites, cabins, and camping. Its main appeal is combining casino time with a Lake Oahe getaway. Dining choices are limited, and the casino closes at 2:00 AM. I see it as a better fit for regional slot players, anglers, and campers than travelers seeking an around-the-clock casino vacation.
Grand River Casino & Resort: Quick Facts
| Address | 27903 US-12, Mobridge, SD 57601, four miles west of town |
|---|---|
| Property type | Tribal casino resort on the Standing Rock Reservation |
| Owner | Standing Rock Sioux Tribe |
| Casino hours | Daily, 7:00 AM to 2:00 AM |
| Minimum gambling age | 21 |
| Slots | Over 250, according to an undated tourism listing; approximate, not a current inventory |
| Poker room | No |
| Retail sportsbook | No |
| Lodging | Rooms, suites, cabins, RV sites, and tent sites |
| Dining | River’s Edge restaurant and Sand Bar |
| Rewards | Gold Club, free to join |
| Phone | (605) 845-7104 |
| Official website | www.grandrivercasino.com |
What Kind of Casino Is Grand River?
Think regional gambling stop with several ways to stay, rather than a miniature Las Vegas. The lake setting gives Grand River a place on an itinerary even when gambling is only part of the plan.
A hotel room near the casino suits an evening of dinner and slots; a cabin or campsite suits a trip built around time outdoors. Those are different vacations, even if they share the same casino.
For alternatives around the state, see our guide to South Dakota casinos.
Casino Games: Slots, Video Poker, and Tables
Slots and Video Poker
Slots are the clearest gambling draw. Missouri River Tourism describes over 250 reel and video slots, but its listing is undated. Use that figure to understand the property’s scale, not as an exact machine inventory.
The listing mentions blackjack and poker without clearly separating electronic games from live tables. If a particular video poker title or paytable is the reason for your trip, call first. Once there, check the machine’s actual paytable and total wager rather than assuming familiar-looking games offer identical terms.
My usual slot advice applies: look at the total bet, not just the denomination. A penny machine need not be a penny-per-spin game. Neither a losing streak nor an advertised jackpot tells you a machine is due to pay.
Live Table Games
Call before making a special drive for a particular live game. The tourism directory advises visitors to ask about table hours and live games; do not assume a specific dealer-operated lineup or minimum.
Ask which games will be running when you arrive and what the minimums are. General casino hours are not a promise that a particular table will be staffed.
Poker Room
Grand River Casino has no dedicated player-versus-player poker room. Video poker and poker-themed casino games are separate offerings, not a cash-game room or tournament schedule.
Sportsbook
Grand River Casino has no on-property retail sportsbook. You can watch a game at the Sand Bar, but sports on television are not a betting counter.
Hotel, Cabins, and Camping
The official property homepage advertises rooms from $125, suites from $189, and cabins from $90. These are starting prices, not date-specific quotes or totals including taxes and additional charges.
- Standard room: Described as steps from the gaming floor and restaurants. I would start here if convenient casino access is the point of staying overnight.
- Suite: Advertised features include extra space, a sitting area, and a whirlpool tub. Choose it for those features, not simply the grander name.
- Cabin: Positioned near Lake Oahe with river access, this is the outdoors-oriented choice. Confirm its location, bed arrangement, and facilities.
- Campsite: RV and tent camping is available down the road from the casino. Advertised amenities include 50-amp electrical hookups, water access, picnic tables, and fire rings. Confirm what your chosen site includes.
Adjoining and accessible lodging rooms are also listed. Request the room layout and bathroom features you need, plus the complete rate, check-in and check-out times, and any relevant pet or smoking rules.
Cancellation Policies Differ by Lodging Type
The official lodging policy requires 72 hours’ notice before arrival for The Bay Campground. Canceling within that window may mean losing your deposit, and a full refund is not guaranteed.
Reservations listed under “The Lodge and Camp & Cabins” may be canceled without penalty until 4:00 PM CST on arrival day, with possible fees afterward. Ask which policy applies to your booking, especially if weather could change your camping plans.
Gamboool’s Lodging and Budget Comparison
The useful comparison is casino convenience versus lake-oriented lodging, with the full booking total deciding the value.
Gamboool original analysis
We assembled the comparison below from published information and our calculations. These are selected examples, rather than measured gambling sessions or a representative survey.
| Detail | Published information |
|---|---|
| Grand River standard rooms: Advertised starting price | $125.00; a starting price, not a date-specific quote. |
| Grand River suites: Advertised starting price and distinguishing amenities | $189.00; advertised with spacious layouts and a whirlpool tub. |
| Grand River cabins: Advertised starting price and positioning | $90.00; advertised as family-friendly with river access. |
| Regular RV and tent sites: Daily and monthly prices | Both categories list $21.00 per day or $400.00 per month. |
| Elder campground sites: Age eligibility and nightly price | Guests 55 and over have a listed elder site rate of $18.00 per night. |
| Double RV sites: Daily and monthly prices | $35.00 per day or $475.00 per month; permitted occupancy is not specified in this passage. |
| Campground vehicle and picnic shelter listings: Separately published daily prices | Vehicle: $15.00 per day; picnic shelter: $25.00 per day. The passage does not establish whether the vehicle charge applies to campsite guests. |
| Grand River campground: Holiday pricing exceptions | Holiday rates apply on the listed Memorial Day, Father’s Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day weekends; amounts are not published here. |
| Grand River campsites: Published utility and picnic amenities | 50-amp electrical hookups, water access, shaded picnic areas, tables, and fire rings are advertised. |
| River’s Edge restaurant: Weekday versus weekend closing schedule | Published hours are 7 a.m.–9 p.m. Sunday–Thursday and 7 a.m.–10 p.m. Friday–Saturday. |
| River’s Edge restaurant: Scheduled buffet and senior meal offering | Breakfast buffet is advertised for Saturday and Sunday; a senior meal deal is advertised for Tuesday. Prices and eligibility details are not stated here. |
| Sand Bar: Daily operating schedule | Advertised as open 10 a.m.–2 a.m. daily; this does not establish separate food-service hours. |
| Sand Bar Brew Pub Pizza: Published food price | $14.00; size, toppings, taxes, and other charges are not specified in this passage. |
| Grand River Casino: Published general property hours | 7 a.m.–2 a.m. daily; separate table-game and dining schedules should not be inferred from these hours. |
| Grand River Gold Club: Membership cost and advertised earning categories | Free membership; the homepage advertises earning points for hotel stays, dining, and casino play without publishing a conversion rate in this passage. |
| South Dakota casino wagering: Minimum age for Deadwood and tribal casinos | The state lists a minimum wagering age of 21 for both Deadwood casinos and tribal casinos. |
| Grand River lodge accommodation: Published room configuration and accessibility options | The tourism directory advertises adjoining and handicap-accessible rooms; request the specific configuration needed. |
| The Bay: Fishing-trip amenities | The tourism directory lists two boat ramps, a cleaning station, and a convenience store; this passage does not establish access charges or inclusion with lodging. |
| Calculation | Result | Takeaway |
|---|---|---|
| Suite versus standard room: advertised starting-rate premium | $64.00 per advertised nightly rate, before any additional charges | Compare the suite premium with how much you value the whirlpool tub and extra space; starting rates are not date-specific booking quotes. |
| Standard room versus cabin: advertised starting-rate difference | $35.00 per advertised nightly rate, before any additional charges | The cabin has the lower advertised starting price, but compare its location and features with the hotel before choosing solely on cost. |
| Illustrative standard-room stay plus one Sand Bar pizza | $139.00 for an illustrative room-and-pizza subtotal | Use this as a nongambling budget baseline assuming a room is available at the starting rate and you buy one pizza. Taxes, fees, tips, drinks, transportation, and gambling are excluded. |
| Regular RV site versus eligible elder site | $3.00 per comparable overnight stay, excluding holiday adjustments and additional charges | Eligible older campers should ask for the elder rate and confirm that it applies to their chosen site and dates. |
| Two regular RV sites: illustrative daily base cost | $42.00 per day for two regular RV sites, before additional charges | Compare this separate-site budget with the published $35.00 daily double RV site rate, but confirm how many rigs the double site permits before treating it as a substitute. |
| Regular RV site: monthly rate expressed in daily-rate equivalents | 19.0476190476 daily-rate equivalents per monthly payment | For a longer stay, compare the monthly payment with paying daily. Confirm the monthly booking period, availability, holiday treatment, and any additional charges. |
| Double RV site: monthly rate expressed in daily-rate equivalents | 13.5714285714 daily-rate equivalents per monthly payment | The monthly option is worth checking for an extended double-site stay; confirm occupancy rules and booking terms rather than assuming it works like separate daily reservations. |
Research references: grandrivercasino.com 1, grandrivercasino.com 2, grandrivercasino.com 3, dor.sd.gov, sdmissouririver.com.
Method: Published inputs collected 2026-10-13. Illustrative assumptions are labeled, and the full calculation inputs remain in the saved research record. These examples support planning; they do not predict a particular session.
At the advertised starting rates, a suite starts $64 above a standard room, while a cabin starts $35 below one. These are published starting-price comparisons, not matched-date savings. I would pay the suite premium only if the extra space and whirlpool tub matter. The cabin’s lower starting price is attractive, but its location and facilities deserve equal attention.
An illustrative standard-room night plus one Sand Bar pizza totals $139. That assumes the starting room rate is available and you buy one pizza. Taxes, fees, tips, drinks, transportation, and gambling are excluded. This is a planning subtotal, not a package offer.
Campground comparisons are useful for longer stays and groups:
- Regular RV and tent sites: Listed at $21 per day or $400 per month.
- Elder sites: Guests 55 and older have a listed $18 nightly rate, a $3 difference from the regular RV daily rate for a comparable overnight stay. Confirm eligibility and date restrictions.
- Monthly rate equivalents: The regular monthly payment equals about 19.05 daily-rate payments. A double RV site’s $475 monthly payment equals about 13.57 payments at its $35 daily rate. These are rate equivalents, not guaranteed break-even booking periods; monthly terms and additional charges can change the comparison.
- Two sites versus a double site: Two separately booked regular RV sites have an illustrative $42 daily base cost, compared with the listed $35 double-site rate. Confirm how many rigs the double site permits before treating it as a substitute.
Clarify whether the separately listed $15 daily vehicle charge applies to campsite guests. Holiday rates apply on Memorial Day, Father’s Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day weekends, so get a date-specific quote rather than budgeting from the regular rate.
Restaurants and Bars
River’s Edge Restaurant
River’s Edge serves comfort food with Missouri River views. Published hours are 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM Sunday through Thursday and 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM Friday and Saturday.
The restaurant advertises a Saturday and Sunday breakfast buffet and a Tuesday senior meal deal. Ask about buffet times, prices, and senior eligibility rather than treating either as an all-day offer.
Sand Bar
The Sand Bar lists daily hours of 10:00 AM to 2:00 AM, with drinks, sports viewing, and a Brew Pub Pizza advertised at $14. Bar hours do not establish that pizza is served until closing.
The practical distinction: the bar stays open after River’s Edge closes, but it is not a substitute for a full restaurant menu. I would settle dinner before a late arrival rather than assume an open casino means an open kitchen.
Outdoor Amenities at The Bay
The lake connection is more than scenery. Missouri River Tourism lists two boat ramps, a fish-cleaning station, and a convenience store at The Bay, the associated outdoor lodging area.
Those facilities make Grand River worth considering for an angling trip. Ask about access charges, availability, and what is included with your stay. Do not assume the boat ramps or cabins are at the casino entrance.
I would build a non-gambling itinerary around the lake rather than count on nightly shows or a packed resort entertainment schedule.
Directions and Practical Visit Information
Grand River is four miles west of Mobridge on Highway 12, at 27903 US-12, Mobridge, SD 57601. For arrangements, call (605) 845-7104.
A car is the practical starting point for planning this visit. Arrange other transportation before arriving rather than count on a late-night rideshare or shuttle, especially if you will be drinking.
- Parking: Ask about boat-trailer and oversized-vehicle arrangements separately from your campsite reservation.
- Smoking: Request the current gaming-floor and lodging policies if smoke exposure affects your comfort.
- Accessibility: Confirm the route between your accommodation, dining, and the casino, along with your room’s features.
- Weather: Leave flexibility for highway conditions, particularly during winter travel.
- Gambling age: You must be 21 to gamble. Bring valid government-issued photo identification.
Gold Club Rewards
Gold Club membership is free. The property advertises earning points for hotel stays, dining, and casino play, but that description does not establish a point’s cash value. Ask how earning and redemption work before spending.
My advice is to take rewards attached to a visit you already planned, not gamble longer to earn a room or meal. A comp is not much of a bargain if chasing it costs more than buying the item outright.
Who Grand River Casino Suits Best
The strongest feature is its choice of trip styles: a casino-focused hotel stay, a lake-oriented cabin visit, or camping with gambling and dining nearby. River-view meals and fishing facilities give the property a purpose beyond its slot floor.
The trade-off is breadth. Dining centers on one restaurant and one bar, the casino is not open around the clock, and outdoor lodging requires planning travel between facilities.
Our Recommendation
Grand River makes the most sense for slot players, anglers, and campers who want casino time alongside a Lake Oahe getaway, with hotel rooms favoring convenience and cabins or campsites favoring the outdoor portion of the trip. I would choose it for that combination rather than for a long list of resort attractions. Travelers seeking numerous restaurants, extensive nightlife, or around-the-clock play should choose another property; here, the better plan is to settle lodging location, meal times, and the full booking cost before arriving.
Grand River Casino & Resort FAQ
Is Grand River Casino open 24 hours?
No. Published casino hours are 7:00 AM to 2:00 AM daily.
How old do you have to be to gamble at Grand River?
You must be at least 21. The South Dakota Department of Revenue states that minimum for wagering at tribal casinos.
Does Grand River have a hotel and campground?
Yes. It advertises rooms, suites, cabins, RV sites, and tent sites. Confirm the location and facilities of your chosen accommodation.
Does Grand River have a poker room or sportsbook?
No. Grand River has no dedicated player-versus-player poker room and no on-property retail sportsbook.
Does Grand River offer a daily buffet?
The official dining page advertises a breakfast buffet on Saturday and Sunday. Do not plan around a daily buffet without checking directly.
Is Grand River worth an overnight stay?
I think the overnight case is strongest when you also want time around Lake Oahe or prefer not to drive after a casino evening. For a short slot session and a meal, staying overnight is optional.
Sources and Planning Note
- Grand River contact page: address, ownership, casino hours, and phone.
- Grand River dining page: River’s Edge, Sand Bar, published hours, and pizza price.
- Missouri River Tourism property listing: approximate slot count, lodging options, accessibility, and The Bay amenities.
- South Dakota Department of Revenue gaming information: minimum gambling age.
Property lodging and booking-policy pages are linked in the relevant sections. Source material was collected October 13, 2026. Comparisons use advertised rates, not date-specific booking quotes; the room-and-pizza subtotal is illustrative. Confirm prices, food-service hours, and booking conditions before traveling.
Poker room and sportsbook
There is no dedicated poker room or on-site sportsbook.